Discussion in 'The NAAFI Bar' started by Hector_Chavez_V, Dec 7, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Had a curry last night with a mate whilst we had a catch up.

He is a brickie who doing up an old farm house for himself in the middle of nowhere and I asked him how he was getting on with the cold as he is living in a caravan till its done, 'ok' says he, 'but the wind is playing havoc with my nipples'. I studied his face for signs of mirth but he then followed it up by saying 'I got some cream from Boots but they are still red raw, I was a bit embarrassed asking the girl at the counter for it' whilst cupping his hands to his sore tits. I executed a swift changing of subject and all was well until he mentioned that he had seen his ex partner with her new bloke on a night out, after enquiring as to how she was he adopted a far away look and just muttered 'I couldnt speak to her, I was on the verge of tears', Fuck me thought I, and so began an emotional half hour over chicken bhunas and chips as he professed his undying love for her and various other statements of sentimental shite, all this coming from a man who is harder than a coffin nail.

I know this 'sharing of feelings' and 'taking care to look good' has been steadily creeping in for the last decade but I'm convinced there are just a few of us left. I am quite straightforward getting ready for a night out. I shower, slap a bit of cold water on face after, teeth brush, run a bit of wax through my scruffy surfers mop, grab cash, phone, keys and out I go, a process that takes little more than half an hour. I own some nice suits, a few shirts, jeans and a couple of pairs of decent shoes and have been known to apply a bit of moisturiser if I was out on a job or site all day.