Met Police prosecuted under health and safety laws

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by geo7863, Sep 19, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a professional Construction Health & Safety Consultant and at times I am asked to justify certain regulations and codes of if i wrote the bloody things, however I do my best to explain why we must do this and why we must do that, keep the workforce safe and yet help the construction business survive etc etc.

The news today totally blew me into the weeds, how the hell can anyone justify prosecuting the Met Police for shooting Jean Charles de Menezes, even his family say it's ridiculous....

The charges revolve around 'a duty of care to someone not in their (the Met Police's) employment'....what a load of total arrse.

Which idiot in the HSE had enough lack of common sense to press this charge forward, and which total moron in the Crown Prosecution Service allowed the charge to get to serious discussion let alone go to court.

A charge of 'lack of duty of care' arises when someone (an employer) omits to do something in their normal day to day operations which results in the injury or death to their employees, visitors, members of the public or anyone else affected by their operations, or damage to machinery buildings the environment or any other infrastructure...

The guy was running from the police when chased..the sensible thing to do would have been to stop no matter how scared he was... and the officers involved had moments to assess the risk to the public and themselves and act..which they did thinking this guy might of had pounds of high explosive strapped to his chest a hard moral decision to take and a brave one, and they took it.