Mess Kit as White Tie

Discussion in 'Officers' started by grey_man_2, May 11, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm going to a (civillian) white tie ball this summer and would quite like to wear my mess kit. The unit dress regs state:

Shirt: White Soft Collar & black Bow Tie (for White Tie events worn with a stiff high collar).

Does anybody know if this means winged collar and white bow tie or winged collar and black bow tie?

Also, if anybody knows of any reason I shouldn't wear the rig as a rule then of course let me know!
  2. I'm not an expert on such things but:

1) Surely No 1s are a closer equivalent to white tie, mess kit is more black tie
    2) Are you actually there a a representative of your unit?
  3. Until better informed comment turns up, I'd suggest the clue is in the name? :)

I can't imagine a change of collar is particularly transformative on its own.
  4. 1) I was under the impression that No. 1s are closest to morning suit, in that they are for extra-formal day wear, whereas black tie, white tie and mess kit were all evening wear. I have seen people wearing No. 1s to dinners before, however I assumed that was in place of expensive mess kit early in career/while at the factory. Either way, I won't have access to 1s at that point...
    2) No, I will not be, however I am judging that such a ball is the place to look your best rather than conform as in a formal dinner. Thoughts?
  5. So you want to wear uniform to a civilian function even though you're not actually representing the Army in any way?
  6. Fairly sure that this query also came up in the 'Dapper Clothing' forum. Can't recall the answer I'm sorry to add, however try there.
  7. Why the **** not? I wore my mess-dress to a few civvy functions, instead of a black-tie. The birds drip clunge juice all over themselves.