Mess function photos

Discussion in 'Seniors' started by armr617, Nov 30, 2009.

?
  1. Goes on the mess bill, wait for delivery

65.9%
  2. Pay on the night and get the print

11.4%
  3. Pay on the night, wait for delivery

2.3%
  4. Goes on the mess bill, print on the night

20.5%

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Greetings all

I would appreciate some assistance if you can spare the time.
    I am still serving and coming back to the UK shortly, once back I intend to start up a small business venture doing mobile portraiture.

I have plenty of experience doing mess functions here in Germany, however from what I hear things are done a bit differently in the UK.
    So, my questions

1. How much did you pay for your last function photo, and what size was it (most are 7x5, 8x6, 9x6 or 10x8)?

2. Did you pay cash on the night or did it go on your mess bill?

3. Was the photo printed on the night or did you have to wait for it (and how long)?

Thanks for your time; this should help me to tailor my business plan

2. Normally put on mess bill. Not printed on the night. Size varies

3. Can't remember cost, had to wait a couple of weeks for the print

4. Had a bit of a mare with this once, photographs taken and ordered and then delivered 2 weeks later with the cost (about £4 each) added to mess bill. However, I was not at all happy with the photographs when I got them. Returned the said items to the mess and asked for the money to be credited back to my mess bill.

Then it got messy. Got my money back eventually but not until after much hassle and having to get the mess president involved.