Mess Dress - Who wears spurs?

Discussion in 'Seniors' started by Sgtfcuknuts, May 6, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I've just being promoted, and have purchased a second hand mess dress for the AGC complete with boots and spurs.

Do AGC actually wear them, or will I look like a walty chopper if I use the spurs....

Do I have any historical right to wear them, after coming from a Cavalry regiment?

I've asked about the office, and been told variously to wear them, and not to....

Is there a definitive answer?

Ta

Sgt FN

2. I haven't seen any other AGC - other than RMP Officers - wear them. I'd say no - but I'm no expert!

3. Did you, perhaps, buy your mess dress from an ex-WO1?

I don't know the answer to your question, but spurs seem a very WO1 form of dress to me.

I've got a sneaking suspicion, though, that spurs are part of the kit... (If only I'd spent more time looking at people's feet instead of their faces...).

4. I reckon I'll wear them then, and risk the wrath of the RSM!

5. Or ask the RSM - it's their show.

6. You crack on mate, I've only ever seen WO1's wear them, but stand to be corrected.

7. You'll be the most popular member of your mess after all those extras then! :D As a general rule all the Cav Regiments wear them (SNCOs/WOs & Offrs), everybody else just Field Offrs (Maj and above), cos they got issued with a nag in the old days, HTH!!! :wink:

8. So...if I transferred from Cavalry, would I retain the right to wear them? Are there dress regs covering this at all?

9. Just remember to remove them before you go to bed...

..otherwise the duvet will be shredded and the bedroom will look like Bernard Matthews has just plucked 30 turkeys in it!

Litotes

10. Wise words, obviously speaking from experience! :D