Mental health apartheid warning

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by dui-lai, Mar 31, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Institutional racism

Any Psych nurse comments before I get on my soap box?

2. So providing them with mental health care is racist now?

3. It's all down to Post Traumatic Slave Disorder. LINK

4. Anything and everything any non black does or says is racist if a non white says it is.

5. I have found the NHS mental health services to be equally lacking in their resources, no matter what your colour or creed.

SD

6. Im a student psych nurse and NHS mental health services are pretty poor at present whatever the colour of your skin, we try hard but like soldiers the government try shaft us anyway they can.

7. The stats are actually correct (for once) but no-one seems to be clear as to WHY you are much more likely to end up with a diagnosis of schizophrenia or end up in Secure services if you are Afro-Carribean (particularly).

Part of it (I think) is that we are too scared of PC-ness to look properly at whether this group is more likely to be susceptible to illnesses like schizophrenia (it wouldn't be the first time that one ethnic group has been shown to be prone to an illness more than others, sickle cell anaemia being the best known). I'm not saying that it is or it isn't but it may be useful to exclude it as a possibility.

There may also be cultural reasons in how people from different ethnic groups express different things that are happening to them. The problem is that the research community is very lairy of anything that proves that ethnic groups are different physiologically/psychologically and that it's possible that certain ethnic groups are more pre-disposed to some conditions than others.