Membership Of Professional Bodies - Useful or Not?

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by HomerCleese, Apr 17, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am in my last year of service and will be looking for employment shortly. My question is "Is it worth my time & money applying for membership of professional bodies such as SOE, MIM etc"? Does anyone have any experience of actually getting a job based on these type of 'qualifications'? Are they a useful way of communicating Military experience in civvie language or just an old boys network which may or may not help getting a job? Seems a lot of money to pay out if no job comes from it. Any thoughts appreciated.

2. I joined the SOE just before I got out to get the letters after my name.
    I was looking for a H&S position so it may have helped. As soon as I got membership of IOSH I didnt bother renewing.

Now use CMIOSH & AIEMA, on my current CV and could use LCGLI if I wanted to try my hand at engineering again.

TSo to answer your question, having the rigfght letters after your name may get you to interview (CMIOSH certainly does).

Fees may also be tax deductable

DMT

3. It depends on what you are wanting get into.

Project Management jobs esp with MoD and Tier 1 suppliers (Lockheed, BAE, Thales) are very difficult to get if you are either in APM/PMI or have a recognised PM qual - APMs APMP or PMIs Certified Associate in PM (CAPM).

Give me a nudge if you want more info.

Oh.. and no I'm not selling training for them! Just got the t-shirt!

4. I think it would be worth your while to join the one which covers the discipline you are most interested in. But attending branch meetings is the key - NETWORKING gets you job introductions

If you are looking at HR/Training, almost all ads will ask for membership of CIPD and you are unlikely to get an interview without it.