Medical student-TA

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by digitalis, Aug 9, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

Wondering if you could help me with a few things I'm not too sure about, I admit from the start I don't know too much, but have had a search of ARRSE and have a rough idea of what the deal with training etc.

I'm a third year medical student and I have recently got the paper work to join my local field hospital. Don't really fancy the OTC, I have a cheap enough bar at my union :D . Not sure about a cadetship just yet, think I would rather see some speciality rotations before making my mind up.

As I understand it, it is a total of four weeks training, ending up with a commission? It can either be done as:-

a.) a four week block (probably in a years time from now, next July/August)
    b.) a two week initial block ( I think this is Phase 1A from my searching?) followed by a two week block at RMAS.
    c.) 6 weekends of Phase 1A followed by two weeks at RMAS.

I understand that PQOs get commissioned before undertaking the training, but at my unit the recruiting captain told me I wouldn't have to go for AOSB? Also, is there a minimum age for medical students to undergo all this training?

The captain said I would get put on the Phase 1A ASAP,, could I get commissioned in my third year? I'm not sure what I would/could contribute to the unit as a 2Lt in my third year, don't want to look a bit of a fool/walt(? hoping this is correct use of the word :oops: ) turning up without even being able to scribble a signature on anything!

Any advice/input would be greatly appreciated and sorry in advance if these are noddy questions!

2. My understanding is as follows.

You are almost entirely correct.