Medical Issue! Joining the Army....

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by WhizzBang, Jan 28, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

Can anybody tell me. If I have 'Reflux' will that bar entry to the army?

I take a tablet once a day 'Omeprazole 20mg' I have no symptoms at all If I take the tablets!!

Thanks,

2. Use the search facility.
    Look in the thread 'All MEDICAL chat & queries in here please' in the 'joining up' forum.

3. Doubt it. I used to it take when I joined, and no one flinched.

4. Thanks FF.

What did you take it for?

5. Whilst I am no expert, ask yourself if you could live and function without your pills for days, maybe weeks on end, because that’s what the medical lot at adsc will ask.

6. Ubuntu,

The answer at the moment would be no! But it wouldnt die. It be in slight pain.......

A few years ago I went on a round the world trip that lasted 18 months. I took enough tablets to last, and whilst away when to mountains, jungle, beach.... Some very remote places and some crowded citys....

My point is that I had no probs what so ever! I did exercise when I could
    and had a great time on my own....

The Army might say that because I need pills that I might be a risk.

But what if I lost my socks? Might sound crazy but without them, my feet would soon cause me to be a problem. If I can go away without losing my clothing I'm sure I can keep hold of a few tablets......

7. Socks are not treated the same way as needing drugs,

Socks are available throughout the military system, Drugs are not. You get issued several pairs of socks, socks can be washed (yes, really they can) and reused, drugs can not. I could go on (often I do)