Medical discharge

Hello,

Newbie here, I’m wanting some advice on my pension and payouts as I am due to be medically discharged from the army. I joined in Feb 2007 and have just sat the Med Board where I have been told times up due to my depression and anxiety. Could you guys help me out with how the lump sum and later payments work. I am worried as I heard some people don’t get nothing and it’s up to Glasgow what Tier you go into or even if you do.

Many thanks

Hello,

Newbie here, I’m wanting some advice on my pension and payouts as I am due to be medically discharged from the army. I joined in Feb 2007 and have just sat the Med Board where I have been told times up due to my depression and anxiety. Could you guys help me out with how the lump sum and later payments work. I am worried as I heard some people don’t get nothing and it’s up to Glasgow what Tier you go into or even if you do.

Many thanks
@Forces Pension Society one for you I think.

Hello,

Many thanks
Ok in brief, On the assumption that your depression and anxiety was caused by service related reasons then you should be eligible for an award under AFCS.

There are tariff levels 1-15 and you are paid a lump sum according to the descriptor for that particular tariff level. If the award made is between 1-11 then a GIP will also be payable (tax free monthly payment) and is a percentage of your yearly wage upon leaving. This is split into 4 bands- 30%/50%/75%/100%.

There are examples in the following link: Armed forces compensation: what you need to know - GOV.UK.

As far as I am aware it's up to Veterans UK on the basis of medical advice what award is made!

One word of caution though, don't expect a GIP and preserved pension, any pension payable is abated to the value of the GIP. I know one is compensation and one is a pension however it is a long running issue!

Hello,

Many thanks
On the occupational pension side, it depends what Tier they put your condition in.