Medical appeals

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Eoiners, Aug 28, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys,
    I submitted my officer application a few months ago and was contacted a few days ago to say that my application would not be taken any further on medical grounds. Upon chasing this up I discovered that the reason was a slight touch of tennis elbow approximately 6 years ago. It hasn't bothered me since despite participating in a few different sports so I am hopeful that an appeal will be succesful.

My question is how long is the process of a medical appeal likely to delay my application? I am studying abroad for the next 4 months so will not be able to obtain the relevant ''new information'' until after Christmas. I had hoped to be able to attempt selection before my final year in Uni, which looks unlikely now but it would be great to get any kind of a timeframe.

Thanks in advance

• Like Like x 1
  2. After hearing that my application had been rejected on medical grounds (knee injury a few years back) I emailed and wrote a letter appealing against the decision. I was sent a form and asked to give it to my GP to get them to confirm the last time I had been treated for the injury in question. Because I had just returned to the UK my GP was in the Netherlands, but that wasn't a problem. He filled it in and sent it off, about a week after he sent it I got a letter saying my appeal had been approved and I could continue the application process.

All told it delayed my application by about 7 weeks. 3 for me to realise I could appeal, 2 to get the medical form for the GP, 1 for him to fill it in and 1 for them to process it.

This isn't a story from years back but from this year, after Capita took over.