Maths GCSE problems...

Hi guys,

New member on here so as ever, apologies if this thread has already been posted.

Right then, I'm in my last year of uni and I plan to apply to join the Signals as an officer. However, I fear that my lack of effort in school will haunt me as I only managed a 'D' in Maths and I know the requirements demand a 'C'. Does anybody have any knowledge on a scenario similar to this? Would I be compensated the GCSE as I have achieved more at a higher level? I don't know.

Any sort of response would be welcome, cheers.

Hi guys,

New member on here so as ever, apologies if this thread has already been posted.

Right then, I'm in my last year of uni and I plan to apply to join the Signals as an officer. However, I fear that my lack of effort in school will haunt me as I only managed a 'D' in Maths and I know the requirements demand a 'C'. Does anybody have any knowledge on a scenario similar to this? Would I be compensated the GCSE as I have achieved more at a higher level? I don't know.

Any sort of response would be welcome, cheers.

I am far from anything that in anyway resembles an expert. However, my understanding is that assuming you've got a degree you should have no problem joining the Army as an officer from the qualification perspective. I don't know about the Signals but they might possibly be quite rigid in the requirements due to technical issues and understanding needed for the role. There must be some form of course you could take in Maths that would supplement your ability if Signals is your true dream. Otherwise I guess there are dozens of other roles available to a graduate which give you a similar experience.

Either way good luck with it all.

An aircraft flies 400 km from a point O on a bearing of 025° and then 700 km on a bearing of 080° to arrive at B.

(a) How far north of O is B?
(b) How far east of O is B?
(c) Find the distance and bearing of B from O.