Masters degree but going regular

Hi all.
So, I have a BSc in evolutionary anthropology, I am currently studying a MSc in forensic anthropology.
I am in the OTC at my university, however I believe I am not smart enough to pass officer selection.

Should I attempt an officer application just because of my academic ability? Or Join as a regular soldier because that's my dream.

I do love management and leadership, I have experience in both from working. However, I still believe I am not smart enough for the selection board. And I want to be in the army and contribute at any level.

I knew a fair few who joined as soldiers with degree's, got the experience, ability and confidence to later easily get a commission when they reached SSgt/WO.

Met a chap once, or twice, who had done history of art, or fine art, something like that he joined as a soldier and ended up soldiering at the most highest level.

Go for the commission with oooomphh and a will to succeed and if that does not happen for you they will be very happy to take you as a soldier. Pick something that would give you quicker promotion prospects though.

You appear to be lacking in confidence in your own abilities.
Hardly a good trait for a position where incisiveness & confidence in decisions made are needed.

MrBane

LE
Kit Reviewer
Reviews Editor
Joining as a Regular is a legitimate way of going about becoming one, that's what I plan to do.
Yep, and fair one, but just remember - if you go in as a mere foot slogger, you more or less wasted your Masters. It won't get you anywhere any faster though it will help you jump across should you decide to.

Don't fret about joining as an officer and not feeling you've earned it or are capable enough - plenty of the ******* aren't but they give it a good go.

Yep, and fair one, but just remember - if you go in as a mere foot slogger, you more or less wasted your Masters. It won't get you anywhere any faster though it will help you jump across should you decide to.