Martial Arts - Bad or good for an injury?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Dr_Chris, Sep 20, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. That's a bit of a stupid topic name, but thought it makes it pretty plain.

I've had pretty bad shin splints for a while and am therefore unable to do much running, especially with weight. I want to keep my fitness up and was therefore looking into starting a martial art. What I wanted to ask you chaps/chapesses is whether this would be a good way to maintain fitness and help build my muscle back up, or whether it would be likely to make the injury worse?

Cheers in advance.

2. im a proffessional martial arts instructor, and it has always kept me in pretty good shape. i do plenty of running aswel but even so, depending on what you decide to do, its good for cardio fitness and muscle tone.

ive never had anybody in a class with shin splints before so couldnt comment on that. but with regards to general injury. if the class is taught properly and the students arent nutters, the risk is extremely minimal. a good instructor is key.
    PM me and i should be able to suggest a good school in your area.

benjy

3. Having done some martial arts I would say its probably not a good idea. In Taekwondo at least there is a lot of pressure on the ankles, calves and shins which might make shin splints worse. The other thing you might want to consider is that injury rates in martial arts are generally quite high due to the intensity of the training.

You could try something like Judo where you are not throwing yourself through the air or doing high kicks. Capoera (spelling?) might be another option but I would definately stay away from Taekwondo, and Muay Thai, not least because many clubs use running as a main form of getting the students CV fitness working.