Marathons

Discussion in 'Sports, Adventure Training and Events' started by SgtSlaughter, Nov 1, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I've never done a full marathon before only a few half marathons. The London marathon is the obvious one to try but have been looking further afield at Paris or Berlin.

Has anyone done any of these and would recommend any for the experience? I loved the atmosphere from start to finish on the Great North Run!

2. Did Munich- it was ace- the Englischer Garten was a lovely green middle-section, it's a tiny bit later in the year than Berlin, and there're loads of army to pit yourself against. Also, I'd never been there, so it's a pretty good way of looking around the city...

3. I've never run an official race of any sort, but I'm training for a local marathon at the min. Apparently, the ones to try are London and New York. New York is on this coming weekend, so probably the right time to apply for next year.

4. Paris is flat, I've done it 4 times (and London and Venice once each) and signed up for the next one. There are 6500 places left, it's first come first served. If you do sign up have a look at the Paris Marathon thread on Runner's World, it's one of the best. Lots of info for those considering signing up. Loads of Brits run it, there is a great atmosphere. But start saving for your post race beers now !

5. Done 9 Londons and 1 Edinburgh....you won't get into London now unless you take a Charity place up and you have to raise approx £2k for them. Milton Keynes are doing a marathon next year, end of April, you'll get into that one ok and I imagine it'll be pretty flat.

6. Aren't they called snickers nowadays ?

7. Fronty

Fronty Old-Salt Book Reviewer

*badoom-tish* He's here all week!