Making the right choices

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by rallymad_nad, Jan 25, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi people,

hopefully posting in the right area? Just generally looking for some advise or insight. I've been to the local careers place today for a meeting but tbh, were of little help. As soon as there was any interest in being an officer was told I would be contacted by other persons and booted out the door.

I was there for 5 mins, expected to be an hr or so.

One of my choices was AAC, now due to my age, 27, would have to go in as an officer. Now if I didn't make it was then looking at the REME Officer.

My original choice was to go as an armourer but seeing as I have a degree etc it seems that I am best off going the officer route.

If I had time on my side would join as an Armourer then when time and opportunity allows, try out as a pilot for AAC as an NCO. Obviously, due to age this isn't an option, there isn't enough time.

My main issue is that I don't want to get stuck with not being able to be hands on but due to my choices I seem to be tied. I understand that I wouldn't be flying all the time but that linked with desk work would be worth it, so would constant hands on being an armourer. I'm just afraid of getting stuck in the middle, no flying and no hands on.

2. When you say Armourer and hands on do you mean "a member of a military or police force who maintains and repairs small arms and weapons systems"? And so hands on means physically working with weapons in that sense, or do you mean out in in the field getting stuck in hands on?