Making rifle stands, need some help.

Discussion in 'REME' started by Nutter, Jun 22, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi

I thought being reme and possibly armourers you lot might be able to help me.

Brief summary, I am an ACF instructor, we are due to rebadge soon and I have been tasked to set up a series of stands on the A2. At the moment we dont have the A2 and wont get them until just before the rebadging. Generally I want to run my idea past you and see if it passes muster.

I am intending to build them using a flat plate of metal connecting to them using mending plates secured with screws are two pieces of cylindrical metal objects, with a clamp securing the rifle just before the magazine housing and one just before the handguard, allowing all the important bits of the rifle to be shown.

Whilst this may seem like a lot of effort for a demo at rebadging I want to do this as I believe it may make a good instructing tool for drill nights and this is the first time since joining that I have the time to make one.

1. Can anybody tell me the distance between the rear of the magazine housing and the rear of the handgurad. Whilst i relise this is not something most people will know from memory, if someone could measure them for me aad let me knowI would appreciate it.
    2. Does the design sound good, I would weld i but i dont have access to a weilder.
    3. can anyone tell me why when i type this bloody text box move to the top.

Apologies for being an ACF instructor and asking this.
  2. Take a look at the commercial ones for ideas.|66%3A2|39%3A1|72%3A1683|240%3A1318|301%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A50|66%3A2|39%3A1|72%3A1683|240%3A1318|301%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A50|66%3A2|39%3A1|72%3A1683|240%3A1318|301%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A50