Making a Mortar Tube Mug

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by onfire, Jan 11, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

Hopefully not a bone topic, I did search first but couldn't find anything related.

I was reading a news article recently which mentioned mugs made out of surplus mortar round tubes. This reminded me of a photo in the 3 Para book by Patrick Bishop.

I am a teacher now, but regularly pull three hour lecturs ... and do not have a coffee mug big enough to see me through. I have a thermos jobber, but really want something that i can leave in work and forget about.

I happen to have a buckshee green 81mm mortar tube in my stores at work ... my question is HOW DO I ATTACH A HANDLE?? I would look really really silly if the handle failed and it poured down my shirt in class!

I have googled, and found one photo, but all advice and suggestions will be gratefully received.

Onfire

Attached Files:

2. 1. You're going to use this in class? How much of a walt are you.

2. The handle failing and spilling a brew down your front cannot be anymore embarressing than using the thing in the first place.

3. I suggest you give it a good clean. I wouldn't be surprised if there is still some propellant in the tube.

3. I made myself one in Afghan using nothing more than my trusty bayonet scabbard saw.

1 - Cut the tubes in half just above the bottom two peices that hold the two tubes together, the pic you posted shows this.

2 - Decide which tube you want to drink out of and cut the other tube in half.

3 - Trim the half tube down so it is handle sized using the two peices of plastic that were holding the tubes together as a guide (again this is shown in the pic).

4 - You may wish to wrapp some paracord around the handle to make it more comfortable to hold.