Discussion in 'Medals' started by azport, Jan 19, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. So, :cry:
    After 16 yrs service I have been refused my LS&GC because in my youth I got a regimental entry. For the rest of my life I am branded a bad egg, waster etc, all because of a little mishap 15 years ago. Now I'm no lawyer but after I paid the fine, did the warning order and was subjected to the duty officer checking I wasn't drinking alcohol for three months, surely I was punished (and humiliated) enough for records to perhaps put it in the spent file. But oh no! some civil servant has decided that after all this time I can't even get a medal for all the s**t I've gone through. Is this fair ? even after I had written a very apologetic letter explaining the innocence of youth and the drinking culture of those long ago days, the reply was a blunt No, however should I reach WO1 then I shouldn't hesitate to reapply. Now, my question is this, should I really pay for a misdemeanour commited 15 years ago when in todays Army I wouldn't even have been charged (right, Court Martial then, Sir ) or am I just feeling sorry for myself as I don't have a do in my honour? You Choose.

PS. What about bringing in a long service only medal?
  2. Yep :D

Not a medal that anyone I knew or ever knew actually took any notice of.

Once had an RSM say to me that anyone with an LSGC should never be allowed to be an RSM.

But he also told me that if I stayed in the Army for a 100 years that I still wouldn't get one :?

Big deal, you were a bad boy a long time ago, but apart from the p1ss up, does the LSGC actually matter as long as you have still managed to earn the rank on your sleeves?

I think not
  3. Right,
    Your view is noted, however, I should point out that if I ever get to be an RSM your not getting an invite to my presentation!
  4. lol, i'm gutted :D