Loss of fitness over time

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by crashdummy, Jun 22, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Gents,

Roughly how long do you have to not train for before your cardiovascular fitness starts to decline?

I was sick just before I was to start AOSB, and am just about recovered now. But I haven't been training for 9 or 10 days now.

Should I be worried?

2. You've got fcuk all to worry about mate, I snapped my ankle last September and was off the road for 3 months, I put a stone on in weight, thankfully thats now long gone and I'm tickety boo again.
  3. I reckon its different for each person.. if I dont run for a week I really feel it when I hit the road.. although it could be psychological.

4. I agree there. I really feel it if I don't run for a week or more but that may be because I'm still relatively new to regular cardio exercise. I reckon that if you were very active when you were in your teens when the body was still growing, you build your fitness to a level where it won't really go below if you stop exercising.

When I was in my teens I had jobs that involved a lot of heavy lifting. Now I find that I am stronger on average than most blokes my age and I don't ever do weights. That base of strength I built when I was still growing has stayed with me into adulthood. If only I had stuck at cross country running as a teen then I wouldn't struggle as much to keep my cardio fitness up now.
  5. Seconded. I took a week off running due to holiday etc, came back and found it a trauma to start again. Took a month off due to injury and threw myself back into it and was surprised by how little my fitness had deteriorated.