Looking for some assistance

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by LeoRoverman, May 20, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all, I am a newbie on here. What I did in the past is of no consequence although I am an ex scaley. I am however looking for some historical assistance in relation to my dad who was a regular serviceman from 1927-1959. Going through some papers of his and poked behind an old photo I came across something that could be an old divisional patch- though be warned he was a bit of a prankster, bless him. But I am also finding that he may have been involved in suez- something I never guessed when he was alive. The Patches are of a white goose, wings partly unfurled on linen patch forground is Green background yellow. I would be obliged if anyone out there could give me an idea if this was a genuine patch or a spoof.

Some background- Dad served Rasc in Shanghai 1930's UK, then Palestine mid thirties, Western Desert under Wavell and then Monty back to UK Transferred ROAC northern Germany 45-52. The records get abit hazy as he was technically under Rheindahlen but was not in Germany wound up in Benghazi 1956 where he was winding up equipment for return to UK which must have been suez surplus. Left the army 1959. Any info at all would be appreciated.
  2. Picture please.
  3. Is the old boy dead? Then apply for his service records under FOI Act. You'll need his death certificate and 30 English Pounds.
  4. Dads flash.jpg Herewith the flash. Hi Four Zero Charlie, can you do that on line or is that something you have to do from Kew?
  5. Click here

I got my Granddad's for my mum not long ago. Send the MOD £30-ish and a few months later you get a big package with all the paperwork they have.