Looking for advice, returning to work

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by wheelchairwarrier, Jan 5, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Well now that things have quietened down after the holidays I was wondering about finding a job, I am bored. I need your advice here, I am 49, mech engineer by trade also studied robotics and into IT in a keen amateur way.
    The thing is and it is a little bit of a hurdle for prospective employers I am wheelchair bound no use of both arms, but some use of right hand, as you can see I can use a keyboard.
    I went to the DWP jobcentre today to make enquiries they tried to tell me that I need not bother looking as I have my pension and disability money and get NI credits, I told them I wanted to work from a mental health point of view want to keep the grey matter working. I can be a little hard of thinking at times but overall I think I could hack it.
    So suggestions please ( I did think of posting in NAFFI bar for entertainment purposes )
    But I would like serious ideas
  2. Have you thought about extending your 'keen amateur' IT status to a professional level? I'm not an techie sort in any way (ask BFG9000 about the PMs he gets from me! :oops: :D) but I know that there are all sorts of flexible work opportunities in the IT world for people with the right qualifications - it could be worth giving your local FE colleges a ring to find out about what courses they run.

Good luck WW!
  3. WW

Give these people a try:

They have a recruitment division called Interwork which is the largest provider of employment opportunities for the disabled. Their aim is to get people back into mainstream employment and have partnerships with people such as BT.
  4. Mate, only a cnut would make fun of your disability and as far as I can read, you don't have a disability cos you are willing and able to work.