Lookfor help.. veteran that have returned their medals

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by alastairharper, Aug 13, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everyone,

I'm a freelance journalist putting together an article for the Saturday Guardian.

I am trying to find a list of veteran's that have returned their medals and would be interested in being interviewed about their reasons.

I wish to find a series of people from the British forces who, at whatever time and for whatever reason, returned their medals in protest; political or personal, it doesn't matter. They could also have been returned at any time; from fifty years ago to today.

There isn't a particular 'spin' I wish to put on the piece, and that's why I'm looking at all conflicts and motivations; I simplywish to look at what different things can so outrage a veteran that he would reject his honours.

Many thanks,
    Alastair Harper

2. Alistair, most probably a lot of veterans have sold their medals on places like EBAY and to military collectors.A lot of them display them on their chests at Remembrance Sunday and re-unions etc.I wonder why any of them would want to return their medals because they have a gripe or two on how this and other governments handle defence issues.Governments don't give a toss on what veterans do with their medals and more so they don't give an even bigger toss about veterans issues.Just look around the country and see those very medal wearing vets struggling to make ends meet with what small pensions and allowances they get based on the DWP
    criteria.If you were to ask veterans what they think of issues that affect them most I'm sure your email address would be full with answers.T

3. How much of your fee are you donating to a forces charity ? Have you asked the VA or MoD if they have figures ?

WW