Look What I Found Today!

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by Rumpelstiltskin, Nov 11, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Picked this up today (quite literally): a G3, right? I didn't even know the Libyans used them.

Nabbed from the ex-barracks of Gadhafi's 77 Bde in Tripoli. The amount of smashed-up sexy kit lying around there was astonishing, though less so than the vast reinforced concrete hangars that had been completely smashed into rubble by NATO.

We fucked that place up pretty, pretty good.

Now to the point (apart from showing off): what are my chances of getting this into the UK? The working parts are completely fused together and the barrel is warped at a mad angle. Is it still covered by firearms legislation?

Attached Files:

• gat.JPG
      File size:
      140.6 KB
  2. None whatsoever IMHO, but I'm not an expert. I think you'd need it deactivated and a certificate, otherwise it's still a gun and you'd be trying to import it.
    You may find yourself diverted to Guantanamo.

Isn't it too far gone to be of souvenir value? I suspect the best plan would be to put it back in the scrap pile.
  3. wrong mag. thats an FAL one. <spotter mode/>
    • Like Like x 4
  4. Never mind the gat; who the **** laid those tiles?
    • Like Like x 5
  5. That's what gives it curio status, no? Also, I'm an inveterate scrounger, so putting it back will give me occasional pangs of grief for a long while yet.

Or until I find an FN...

Also, I checked the serial number. An Iranian export model, surely that gives it curiosity value.

And I went back today and found a **** load of these things lying around. What are they, Kornets?

Attached Files:

6. I can foresee a thread which starts

"Rumplestiltskin is currently in a grubby hospital in tripoli nursing his stumps"

Try banging some of this stuff you find on the ground:)