Longish post, looking for insight and advice.

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by kentuk20, Jun 20, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

First off I'll explain the last bit of my life, sorry if it's boring...

Last November I started training at ITC Catterick, I finished phase 1, but decided the full time army wasn't for me. There were parts of the Army that I loved, and parts (IE the huge amounts of time away from home, for the next 4 (if I'd have only stayed 4) years, that I wasn't so keen on.

Now I am out and I do sometimes regret leaving, and find that whenever I do talk about the Army, I talk about it quite fondly.
    Well this year in september I am starting an Access course at college, which will allow me to go to university, the course is full time and will apparently require roughly 30 hours of my time a week, 16 hours in college and roughly 14 hours personal study.

Last night I met a guy at a party that has just completed and passed the LC course at ITC Catterick (maybe that's slightly irrelevant) and I was speaking to him about the army, and how I miss the chance to have got to go on tour, and he started telling me about the TA.

After speaking for a while he said (I believe, I was quite drunk at the time..) that it takes roughly a year to complete TA training as an infantryman, so I did some thinking today and worked out, if I started training soon, I could do my course at college, complete my training shortly after college, and take a year out between college and uni, in which time I could hopefully get to go on a 6 month tour?

I have no idea if this sounds realistic, as maybe the TA won't want me having quit the regs..But I'd love to give a shot and get a chance to go on tour.

I also have a few questions about the actual training process.