London's burning

gaijin

War Hero
A fire in West London seems to have pretty much engulfed an entire 24 storey, tower block. 200 firefighters and 40 appliances on the scene and, if reports are to be believed, there have been people trapped and fatalities are not unlikely.

All of the major news outlets have coverage so I will only link to Sky
Sky News - First For Breaking News From The UK And Around The World

Travel chaos guaranteed for anyone commuting in from the West.

I know that it is far to early for any informed speculation but what could cause a whole building to go up like that? I have no knowledge in this area but presumably something more severe that someone falling asleep in bed with a ciggie? Its West London so I might have a small flutter on it someone's weed factory overheating.

TamH70

MIA
A fire in West London seems to have pretty much engulfed an entire 24 storey, tower block. 200 firefighters and 40 appliances on the scene and, if reports are to be believed, there have been people trapped and fatalities are not unlikely.

I know that it is far to early for any informed speculation but what could cause a whole building to go up like that? I have no knowledge in this area but presumably something more severe that someone falling asleep in bed with a ciggie? Its West London so I might have a small flutter on it someone's weed factory overheating.
I think whatever caused the initial inciting incident isn't really the main focus for the forthcoming inquiry - it's how the hell the thing got so bad - most blocks of flats have effective fire doors and other such systems in them, and they all seem to have failed here. Standby on the authorities looking for someone to blame for this beyond whoever accidentally/on purpose started the fire.

Fishbulb

Clanker