London weekend

Discussion in 'Travel' started by 05NMANIK, Jul 2, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This weekend me and my partner will be there for a concert and will only be staying one night.
    I want to fit in as much as possible in the twelve hours (approx)of free time.
    my list so far is :
    1.houses of parliament
    2.trafalger square
    3.buckingham palace
    4.tower bridge cathedral
    6.the London eye
    7.and of course the imperial war museum

(it may not seem long enough to see all of the places here but this is coming from someone who done the magic kingdom in 20mins.)

It is my first time there so what do you recommend, am i missing anything else.
  2. Seeing as it's your first time, I'd say get the Big Bus guided tour to all those places (sh1tty weather permitting)- it's about 20 quid but you can get on and off as often as you like for 24hrs, and they'll sell you the tickets to the above places avoiding the FCUKING MASSIVE queues...also slightly cheaper than buying at the door (i think)

Don't get the 'Original Tour' bus ride, it's sh1t.

I'd also say go the Cabinet War Rooms in Whitehall (between Trafalgar Sq and Parliament).

And then I'd say once you've done all that, next time see the REAL London!! Also, don't eat anywhere in the West End (except maybe Wong Kei in Chinatown or the Italian/Spanish places around Charlotte & Goodge Streets). I'd also say give the Edgware Rd a whirl- if you like Arabs.. (I do, as it happens)

Have fun mate.
  3. You're missing The Church on Sunday!
  4. I thought about taking a bus tour but i like the idea of walking. I'll ask the missus see what she says. (you say you can get on and off when you like, that sounds fair)
    Also are taxi's more expensive there, or is it just the one way system that takes the piss?

well doesn't st. paul's cathedral count :oops: