London 2012 - Is It Worth It?

Discussion in 'Sports, Adventure Training and Events' started by Irish_Rover, Jan 23, 2007.

1. Yes - go for it and sod the cost!

0 vote(s)
  2. Undecided

0 vote(s)
  3. No - a waste of money and effort

0 vote(s)

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. London 2012 Organising Committee is being given a hard time (with a fair amount of criticism for the Government as well). See:

My question is: Do you think the cost of the Games is worth it?

In my view it is worth every penny. I have a good degree of confidence in Seb Coe and his team, who are hugely committed. The key problem is the Government, who are stumping up a paltry sum in terms of capital costs. As usual Gordon Brown hates anyone doing anything fun. The Games will inspire young people and will be fantastic for the UK tourist industry (not just London's). It will regenerate much of East London. It is already having an impact on train links. The money spent by visitors etc will be in the tens if not hundreds of millions of pounds. Even Athens came out of the experience well.

What do you think? You decide!
  2. Sorry I vote no.
  3. No No a thousand times NO!
  4. No No a thousand times NO!

It will be a complete cünt-up from start to finish.

Look a the dome or the new Wembley stadium. we can't do shit like that any more. It will be embarrassing.
  5. New Wembley - nearly 1 Billion squid...

Fook me, lets renovate and upgrade London, thats not gonna cost much :pissedoff:
  6. It's only worth it if it is given the full support it deserves. (Bit like most of what the Armed Forces are asked to do).

Being given the Olympics is a bit like a country being given a task for a Confidential Report.

Cut the beurocracy out of it, cut the input from ministers out of it and let Seb and his bunch crack on with it.