Discussion in 'Gaming and Software' started by SKJOLD, Jun 3, 2007.

1. Yes!

2. No!

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Thoughts, comments.
    Thinking off changing from XP.
    Any major issues I need to be aware of.

2. I have no professional background in IT, but I've been tinkering around with linux for a few years.

Bottom line: is it better than windows XP/ Vista? Yes, without doubt. Cheaper, more stable, more secure, an excellent choice of software without all the commercially-driven M$ 'your whole system is now obsolete so pay us sh itloads for a new one' crap. Nor do you have that familar windows experience of your OS slowing down and grinding as it gets older. Linux just sits there, is quick, does its thing. The only way windows is superior is with the choice of games available (and linux people are increasingly working out how to run windows games on linux).

But: is the transition from Windows painless? No. It takes time and effort. You're learning a new software system which gives you way more control than windows or mac, but is correspondingly more complicated. The good news is the situation is improving, the people that produce linux 'distributions' make way more effort than used to be the case to help non-experts.

Another huge advantage is that linux breathes new life into old hardware. I'm writing this on an 8 year old laptop which came with win 98 but didn't have the power for XP. I'm running a linux distro from last year which generally beats the cack out of XP and is certainly more than adequate for the basics: secure surfing, email and office functions,