LIFE IN THE FRENCH FOREIGN LEGION

NEVER TOO OLD
This is my first time on the pages but I know that some of you have been reading my onlie book about my life leading up to, joing-up, and then serving with the 2nd R.E.P. for 11 years.
I just wanted to give an honest account of how I found life in the Legion. Most of what you read is from those who for some reason or other couldn't hack it and have to blame the Legion for their failings. True it's not for everyone, nor am I saying that it's the best military force in the world, but it's up there with them.
I hope that some have enjoyed what I have written, and for any of you who would like to you can find it at www.troon-promotions.com/ntd.htm
There are lots of photographs as well that you won't normally come accross.
Any army is only as good as you make it, but you have to try it first to earn the right to codemn it. I was 38 when I joined up so there is hope for all you young guys yet.
:D

A very interesting and well told story. Nice to hear it told from the point of view of someone who didn't desert.

Read it last year, a superb bit of writing, intelligent and very illuminating. I believe there were plans to put an expanded version into print at some point, any news on this? :D

slick said:
Read it last year, a superb bit of writing, intelligent and very illuminating. I believe there were plans to put an expanded version into print at some point, any news on this? :D
The book is completed and has gone to the legal advisers of my printers. I slag off a few politicians in it by name and I know what thier reaction will be.
:twisted:

I'm on page 23 and I have to say that it's a damned good read. Okay there are errors, but the proof reading process will sort those out before it goes into print.

What comes across already is a tale of honesty from someone who is mature enough to look facts square in the face. I look forward to reading the rest.