Legs really aching when running???

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by the_beer_man, Aug 25, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there. I need some help from anyone in the know. I recently (about 7 weeks ago) had a keyhole knee op which resulted in me having a chunk of broken cartiliage removed from my right knee. Since I have started running again I can't get my rythm back due severe burning in the back of my calfs and the front of my thighs.
    I've not been running since I was told I needed the surgery which was about 12 weeks before the surgery. After getting the nod from my doc I started training again 2 weeks after the surgery. I know that I won't be able to run marathons straight away but I'm noticing improvements in my lung capacity and short term speed and strength but I just cant seem to do normal road running. I find this strange as I can tab without too much grief. I have good trainers which are right for my style of running and allways stretch before running.
    Before I stopped training I was doing 6 miles in under 38 minutes and completed the TA P-Coy 10 miler in 1hr 53 min so I considered my fitness to be quite good.
    Can anyone shed any light on this. Is it just a case of soldiering on and it will go away or is there something else I can do? I have been told that if something starts to hurt then stop but I'd be stopping every 5 minutes if that was the case. One thing I did consider is that before the op I weighed in at 75kg and now I weight 80kg. Not gotten fatter just been doing weights a lot.
    Any help apprieciated guys.
  2. would recommend doing exercise in water first, swimming or a running style technique, this gives low or no impact on your joints, thus allowing you to iron out (or find) any imperfections
  3. did you get any physio ? I'd be wanting the nod from a phys rather than a gp