Legit Graduate Research Questions on Perceptions in HMF

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by peedie_buddo, Jun 27, 2006.

?
  1. Family member in the Army

22.5%
  2. Financial reasons

3.1%
  3. Wanted an exciting day job

37.2%
  4. Couldn't think of anything else to do

11.0%
  5. Wanted to travel

8.4%
  6. Other (please give details)

17.8%

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, my name is Lucy. :)

I'm a graduate student at Glasgow University studying War Studies. As part of my studies, I have to complete a dissertation. 8O I have chosen as my subject The British Army and Self-Propagation/Self-Perception. I would like to find out, in other words, the extent to which members of the army view the military as seperate from society as a whole, and what proportion of the army is made up from the children of those already in service. :? And, I would like you to be my fountains of knowledge!! 8)

I would like to emphasise that these questions are not focused on anything operational or of a sensitive nature, but rather it will consider the idea that membership of the Army may run in families; the influences which encourage troops to join; and the civil-military gap that may or may not exist in British society. It is inspired by similar work carried out in the U.S. by P. Feaver.

Please, please, please, please help me!!!!! :lol: The more detailed the answer the better, but I'll take anything!

As a member/former member of the army, do you have relatives who are in/have been in the Army?
    (Who - father, grandmother, brother, etc; when, which service, etc.)

What/who encouraged you to join the Army?

How would you feel/react if another member of your family (eg. sibling/child) wanted to join the forces?