Legal advice on circumstances leading to loss of job.

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by chrisg46, Jun 26, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. chrisg46

chrisg46 LE Book Reviewer

Until earlier today, I was an it contractor and just returned from holiday. Whilst on holiday, the car hire company took a substantial deposit. Upon return to the uk, we found that a) I hadn't been paid (in all honesty, I could have been late submitting time sheet - potentially my fault), and b) the car deposit had not been returned. As a result if this, I was unable to purchase a train ticket to get to work on Monday. As I did not attend work on Monday, I was let go this morning - part of their t&c is that employees are financially stable.

It's pretty raw right now and I might just be lashing out, but I am wondering if I can take action against car hire company for keeping hold of deposit? I have already complained to them re loss of a days wage but could I claim against loss of contract, as I had no indication that deposit would be removed and not returned immediately?
    I am not interested in claiming against my work - they have given me 4 weeks paid leave and are open re their t&c. I do think they have been unfair with their definition of financially stable as I would have needed over 2000 to have both events above occur simultaneously and still get to work. But it's their train set and dems da roolz, as they say.

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)
  2. Why didn't you just ring in sick?
  3. chrisg46

4. The_Duke

The_Duke LE Moderator

A failure to prepare on your part does not constitute an emergency on their part.

You have a right of recourse if the deposit is not refunded in a reasonably timely manner, but presuming the return from holiday was over a weekend a refund in the next working day or so would be "reasonable".