Leaving teaching to join Sandhurst

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Armyapp62, Sep 25, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, I'm currently a Secondary School Teacher, am 24 years old and am considering leaving this profession to join the army as an officer. I've been teaching 3 years and have been very successful so far, becoming head of department with extra pay etc. Has anyone else made a similar decision!? I have a comfortable life but know I would have much more fulfilling experiences in the Army. I'm just a bit worried that I'm being 'foolish' in leaving when I'm doing well, and starting something new. I'm also concerned that if I decide to leave after the required 4 years, that I won't be able to get back into teaching and may have chucked away all my opportunities! Hence being worried about being a fool here.

Any advice/guidance of anyone who has been in a similar situation would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Any advice for going the other way?

3. Lots of people leave some very successful careers to join the Army, as an Officer and has a Soldier.

To be honest, it's a personal thing. At the end of the day you're the person who has to take the risk and if it's something you WANT enough (and believe me, you need to want it) it'll be worth taking the risk.

Go on a few regimental visits, see what life is like and ask questions there. It's the best thing to do really mate.

4. Do it, DO IT NOW!