leaveing RLC

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by just_jay, May 18, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. alrite lads, im currently an rlc driver, im up at leccie at the moment. im wanting to leave the rlc as its such a ******* lazy life, there is no soldiering done, the majority of the core are so ******* lazy , its basically a civvi job. alot of the infantry lot up here and they are all transfering into the rlc, i can understand why some fo them do it towards the end of there career as its an easy life, but im 17 and the easy life is boring, i dont feel as if im prospering at the moment, the shit pay and promotion doesnt realy help.

write bak please .

2. Wow, 17; clearly you have wisdom beyond your years.
  3. Firstly look within the RLC and see if any other trade fires you up as there are plenty which require you to have a bit more get up and go and will present a challenge.If that option fails start to look elsewhere within the army.

Good luck but please ensure you make the correct decision and put your all into it and don't become twitchy every time it's not going your way.Each role has it's up's and downs,that goes for every job in the army
  4. Stick it out until you're 18 or over, then you'll be allowed to go on tours, and prehaps your viewpoint might change a bit, you might enjoy working in the RLC and have some pride in the job you do.

By the sounds of it, you've only just joined, stay in for another year or two and if you don't like it then, then by all means try and transfer.

As Dragstrip implies, you're only 17, there is no harm in staying in for another year or so, and if you want to transfer, you'll only been 19/20, you got time on your hands, so don't make rash decisions too quickly, think them through...

...unless of course you "have wisdom beyond your years." :D

Hope this helps.