Learning Difficulties

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by polar, May 30, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Does anyone have experience of working with soldiers of this type?

I understand the army can provide help but as a TA soldier I've not had to deal with frequently, what is it??? I've been told that I could send them to a DELC but most have jobs and DELC doesn't have instructors on weekends.

Problems I've seen is severe dyslexia and IT illiteracy. Home come some aren't picked up on the recruit selection weekends.

2. Once OAR steps in this shouldn't be a problem as all recruits will do BARB etc to keep them in line with the regs....

3. They do the same tests as far as I am aware but don't get any help (the regulars will accept a recruit at a far poorer standard as they can sort them out - we don't have that luxury or the intent to provide it)

4. Is he your PSAO?

5. Cheers, will look them up later

6. This is where OAR is going to get very interesting. An "informal survey" (which may or may not have kicked off OAR) a couple of years ago revealed that "selection" for the TA was decidedly variable and in many cases was pretty much the ability to pass a medical (and subsequent mobilisations through RTMC have revealed that some unit MOs and "retained" GPs basically have only checked that the candidate seemed to have arms and legs) and fill in the application forms with assistance.

The feeling from some capbadges was that if the regular BARB standards were rigidly applied to the TA, recruiting would completely dry up in some areas.

Any thoughts ?

7. There tends to be a "feeling" that if bodies can pass Phase 1 and CIC then they're fit enough!