Learning Arabic

Does anyone know the best books to buy to learn Arabic? I am an absolute beginner when it comes to knowing the words or grammar, though I have learnt how to read and write Arabic off the internet.
Thanks

If you wait until you join the Int Corps they will probably give you a book and a course so you can save your money for booze

Poppy said:
If you wait until you join the Int Corps they will probably give you a book and a course so you can save your money for booze
That is a very valid point, but wouldn't it show more initiative if I started it myself before I joined?

Go to Arabland, load of em speak it there!

Or have you tried enquiring at a local CAB or Mosque?

Poppy said:
That sounds like a better idea.

If you did apply to be an OPMI (L) and undergo language training, it wouldn't be until after you've completed your first tour as brew-bitch/Map Storeman etc. Also, in accordance with Defence Language Policy, the Army doesn't recognise civilian language qualifications. In order to be employed as a linguist, you'd have to qualify as a linguist under STANAG 6001

Or you could apply for a job as Special Envoy with the Church of England...

I started learning some simple words when I found I was going to hot and sweaty places, just so I could make simple things understood. The big problem (for me as an english speaker) is pronounciation; it's not like German or French which share a lot of the same sounds. I'd really really recommend a book/CD combo with pronounciation guides on the CD; you can get them at most big bookshops. I'd look for one that covers common words rather than conversational arabic, which is a much bigger subject!

Rowums said:
Does anyone know the best books to buy to learn Arabic? I am an absolute beginner when it comes to knowing the words or grammar, thoought I have learnt how to read and write Arabic off the internet.
Thanks