Lean? Load of Arrse or worth the hassle?

Discussion in 'REME' started by catchyerselfon, May 26, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm new to all this Lean stuff so could someone sell it to me?
    Has it worked on anything other than a few Gay boy B vehs and are there templates to stop us 1st liners doing the initial leg work?

(as a footnote why are we sending IST's to 2nd Line, thought that was an einebahnstrasse when we were strapped?) :?:
    Cheers

2. Not sure on the 'Lean' thing, I could've gone to a brief about it, but we were busy at work. I could of course asked for an IST, but they were all at a 'Lean' brief ;)

ISTs can go all directions, it's just a formal way of asking for a and when you're strapped. We've got an IST going to the LAD across the tank park from us next week, and we're 1st line too. Actually, our sparky is helping out the VMs over there, but what the hell, call it an IST, looks good on Techeval.

3. Sparkies helping out VM's surely the VM's are Class2 Electricians anyway! At least thats what they used to say Nige.
    Im all for becoming more productive but it just seems if they had packaged it properly it might be more acceptable to yer average black hander.
    Telling an Artisan to go away and come up with some workable plans for something which they cant see working is too hard to sell.
    Get Joe Crow shop floor munter to rock up and sell it to the workers not just Half Colonels having coffee mornings with the HND'ers.
    Am i too crusty and set in my ways? Ha Ha probably!

4. IST,

good idea, too many conditons attached to getting one to help you out.

for example getting ready for ranges need a lot of prep and manpower, ask Bn for ist for a week to easy the bottleneck. Bn reply no. they will only assist with specific tasks( can we have 2 guys for a pack lift ).
    missing the point i feel.