Leadership. Can it be taught?

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by devilish, Feb 26, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This question has been buzzing around my head for the last few months after a discussion with a particularly arogant orifice.

Can you teach leadership or is it inherent? Are we born with it?

Edited because I'm a biff.

2. I think it's a bit of both. I've met plenty of people who, at first, you wouldn't have followed out of a burning building, but after a while, and some coaching/ lessons etc they've come through as good NCO's...But, I have also seen people remain a mong no metter how much "help" you give them.
    My idea is that the ability to lead could be just a character aspect; in certain people it needs a bit of help, and in some people its not there at all.

T C

3. I have no experience of matters like this, but I think that it is possible to teach leadership to certian types of people, but others just cannot grasp the basics. It takes a certian type of person to be a leader and some people just need a little push in the right direction to realise that they are that type of person.

4. Well I'd tend to agree with the "they have it, just need a little push" bit, but what about someone who has no concept of leadership. Can they be taught?

I. personally, believe that it is something social up-bringing, parental guidance, social incluclusion and, most of all, inheritance which has the major impact on wiether you will evolve into a leader or not.

5. I don't think it can be taught, but experience and confidence can be gained

6. I think it's down to the individual!