Laser treatment???

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by amazing__lobster, Aug 2, 2003.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Can somebody please tell me the eyesight standard for qaranc, and do they accept people who have had laser treatment on their eyes?

Its just im considering transfering over, but im not sure if my eyesight would be upto scratch, as its deteriated a bit since ive been in (understatement!).

2. Hello amazing_lobster and welcome to ARRSE. :D

Being a civvy nurse I can't answer your query about eyesight standards, however, I can't see (excuse the pun) a reason why someone who has has successful laser traetment would be excluded from doing a job.

Maybe someone else will be able to help????????

Someone?

Anyone?? :D

3. Should be no problems with post laser eyes being up to snuff. I wear contacts, and have never had a problem.

I looked into the laser treatment, but didnt go ahead as I didnt like the chances of looking through scratched perspex for the rest of my life.

Get the medical standards from your local recruiting office and then see an optometrist to see how far you are of the mark.

4. There are various rules and regs regarding Laser ops. I think at one time you weren't allowed to be an AFV crewman or go overseas. This may have changed. Anyway I had it years ago and just didn't tell them.

5. Yaarp, that be me then....AFAIK, the MOD has had a bag-on about Laser surgery because following a 'blow to the head' the retina could revert to it's pre-op shape / burst / detach / spontaneously combust / detonate...something like that.....

That being the case then, why do we still employ folk with pins in their legs? Hmm?

The MOD know it's all a load of bollocks....just like Weapons of Mass Destruction in Iraq...