Laptop spastic seeks help

Discussion in 'Gaming and Software' started by gingwarr, Jan 17, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey,

I'm looking at buying a laptop - something I've never done before. I quite frankly have no idea how much RAM I need, how many gigawotsits I should be looking at or what a video card looks like.

My budget's £400 (I know, not much) , and I'll be using it mostly for study, home using and a bit of gaming (I won't need a anythng stupidly good for this).

What should I be looking at, and what should I avoid?

2. Hmmm.....

Asus make good laptops (and most of the circut boards in other companies)

Look for some thing with 1Gb of Ram
    an Nvidia or ATI branding graphics chip and approx 100Gb of disk space. processor does not really matter too much as they will all run windows anything by AMD or Intel is fine.

You might be able to find a good deal on an older machine on ebay but in my experience laptops are always a bit more delicate than desktops so I'd normally steer away from 2nd user ones.

3. msr

msr LE

4. Dell. They may not have the 'cred' of Apple, but they are good well built machines. Here is the secrect though.... Dell sell loads of new stuff through the 'Dell Shop'. This is not to be confused with the normal Dell outlet.
    The Dell Shop sells stuff that is scratched. It is all new, current stock with full warrany etc. It is just scratched or some such minor mark.
    For example, I bought my daughter a lappy for Christmas, an Inspiron 6400, the full works for £230 including VAT. I can't see any marks, neither the wife or daughter.

http://www1.euro.dell.com/content/products/category.aspx/notebooks?c=uk&l=en&s=dfh

5. Dont' be proud... My advice would be to find a mate who does -
    I guarentee they will save you £150 (hopefully more) and get what you need and require...