Kona Jake (2008)

Discussion in 'Sports, Adventure Training and Events' started by Shovel_Recce, Dec 17, 2007.

?
  1. Yes - Good entry level bike/good value

100.0%
  2. Ok - There are better bikes for the same price

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No - Spend more get a better bike

0 vote(s)
    0.0%

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have just been to my local bike shop owned by an ex REME CSM (Robin Cycles), he is doing me a handsome 50% discount on a Kona Jake (2008) model bike, because a] I am REME and b] because I am cycling for charity.

I would like to know if anyone has used one of these bikes before, are they good value for money (assuming I was paying full price that is!), are they suitable for the event I am doing (approx 70 miles for 7 days), any modifications I may need on the bike (pedles, saddle) etc.

I am not a cyclist, this is my first time doing anything like this, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

S_R

2. Not got one myself, but hope this helps.

Kona Jake review

The best tip I can give you is to get a comfortable saddle, and you will only find that out by getting some mileage under your belt before you go.
    Get some shorts with chamois inserts and get some cream to apply before and after you ride.

Chamois Cream

3. Thanks for the link, interesting!

S_R

4. If you are not intending to be doing the 70 miles a day overly fast then I say this bike is a good buy at £700 but esp so with the discount. If all your riding will be on road get the tyres changed to some road slicks you will find these easier going than the cyclocross tyres that are on it.