Knackered wrist

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by crescent, Mar 22, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Mornin'!

Back in July 06 I was in a bike crash with a lovely individual who didn't even stop, anyhoo...

I didn't break my wrist but I ended up with severed something or others, and massive soft tissue trauma. Thankfuly it's all fixed now, but I still get a clicking and pain in the wrist sometimes, and it's definately weaker than the right one.

So, was wondering if anyone knew of anyhting to help strengthen my bad wrist?

Yeah, other than that... :thumright:

Cheers

2. I fund push ups hardest after I broke mine. I though it was fixed until I started training again recently. I think along with the ankle it's one of the most difficult joints to heal. Doubt mine will ever be the same again.

Clenching a rubber ball or similar is one of the main exercises. Pull ups would strengthen it too I imagine.

Get advice from your physio or GP before doing anything drastic though.

3. Depending on pain it's probably best to star off hammering endurance as opposed to strength. Full on press ups/pull ups may be a tad too strong for the mo?

As said the wrist is a right old mess of bones, ligaments, tendons and muscle so after rupturing god knows what there will be no surprise to a little more of something you didnt have before.

EXERCISES

Towel wrings - imagine wringing a towel out in both directions
    Wrist flexion/extensions -hang wrist over knee holding tin of beans etc and flex/extend wrist
    Pro/Supination - holding weight - turn it upside down slowly

Loads of others but low weight high rep to start before adding serious weight

Loads of exs on web but definately seek physio help to determine best specific exs for YOUR specific injuries.

Hope it help and good luck

Ps could try wanking more??

4. Thanks guys.