Kit for the sandpit Part 2

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by GSSigs, Feb 1, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. as mentioned previously, off to the sandpit soon. Things keep coming into in me head.

I am going as a driver. Will i be issued an Assault vest or will I have to dip into me pocket?

Thinking of another pair of desert boots too, any recommendations to which?

Thnaks again GS
  2. I thought they were issuing assault vests??

I was a driver Op Telic 2 and I would say an assault vest is a must have, you have everything you need within it. If you have to buy, make sure the type you buy is IRR covered. A good civvy GPS for emergencies is also worth a thought, ie if you get lost,(Iuse a Garmin Legend £110 on Ebay).

Boots,... I wore issh, they were ok, but a couple of lads bought US issued boots and thought they were brill.

Don't know what the new ones are like.

Enjoy the sun.
  3. Definitely bring at least two pairs of boots, saves your feet going into the same sweaty prison every day and gives the boots a chance to recover. If you do buy US issue boots make sure you get decent insoles, I found them to be comfortable but the soles were not cushioned very well. Make sure you look after your feet.
    Get a decent pair of plain black sunglasses that cover your eyes properly, don't worry about getting the latest Oakleys (I served with RWF on Op Telic 4 and they banned designer sunglasses).
    Decent LED head torch with red filter, Petzl? make one (cost about £20).
    Bottle of Febreeze so you can make your body armour cover sort of smell pleasant. I got issued two thick shirts which at first I though was bone, then I realised that they absorbed the sweat better than the thin c95 shirts.