KGVI

Discussion in 'OTC and ACF' started by sibabe56, May 21, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Im an instructor in ACF and doing KGVI in september this year. My fireldcraft knowledge is minimal as I have been in Shooting for last four years. Would appreciate any help anyone can offer!!!

Background : Joined the ACF "of the street" coming up 7 years ago. Not an ex reg, no prior military knowledge. Passed AITC< AI< CFCB Westbury> RMQ>DCCT etc. Oh and im 52 and female!!

2. im a bit confused as to what you will be "doing" at KGIV?

Safety? Directing staff? whats your artillery background? Why are you doing it?

3. Irish cream:

KGVI is also the name of an ACF adult training course, as well as the UOTC Arty comp.

4. Sorry, I will be a student on the course! I have no artillery background whatsoever (not a pre-requisite for nursing, at least not as yet). Im doing it because its the next course I require. :)

5. sibabe56

KGVI, fieldcraft is all practical and they will teach you on the course, however they do expect a certain amount of knowledge before you go.

I would advise you to get someone to explain the section battle drills, and ambush drills to you.

You will also be expected to write a set of orders on the course, again this is explained whilst you are there. However i would strongly advise you to spend as much time as possible on this prior to the course because it can get a bit heavy going.

Couple of things that may help, you need to have a skill at arms record card showing that you are current on the GP and for preference the LSW (A2), their is no mess night but they have a formal dinner night, mess bills settles in cash on the last day as per the AIs course. Laptops, printers and memory sticks are a godsend on this course (remember to bring a multi plug extension lead there are bugger all power sockets in the classrooms).