Just got my 3rd!

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by scott8629, Sep 10, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have reently been promoted to Sgt and I know I will have to grow up a but but what other stuff can I expect. I dont really know what goes on at the mess do's as I have refused to wait on when I was a young soldier.

What can I expect good and bad?

Cheers

2. expect to be spit roasted by two burly men with huge moustaches.

expect to have your testicles covered in a) boot polish or b) toothpaste (your preference)

expect to be stiched up by practical jokers at every mess function

you know that three hundred quid mess kit you've got to get? expect to have a sleeve torn off during a game of mess rugby.

hope this helps.

3. Best advise... find your self a copy of your regimental mess rules ... read it and then forget it... just enjoy your self, you have made your way into one of the worlds most exclusive drinking clubs.

Keep your eyes open, all the old sweats will be trying to catch you out, port fines are a real pain, but if handeled correctly by your BSM/CSM/RSM they can be a good laugh.

4. Port fines?
    I dont mind the stuff, can you please expalin.

5. Various infringements of the rules (these are written in pencil and are often changed without notice) can result in being "fined" payment being a bottle of port to the mess.

Top tip hide your name card from where your sitting.

6. Only if an RADC person is there :D

7. Actaully thats quite pleasent

8. never sit on a chair that someone offers to you. always swap it if you can. likewise your glass has almost certainly been tampered with.

..I'm sure someone wipes there arse on the rim of mine everytime. Hey Ho.