Joinning the Infantry

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by Skoot, Mar 5, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello, I've been considering joinning the infantry for a few years now and just wanted to ask a quick question. What is the general considerations towards people who join an infantry regiment outside of that regiments "general recuiting area". By that I mean I want to join the Royal Regiment of Fusiliers but live in Northern Ireland and I noticed on the RRF site that most recuits come from the Newcastle and Birmingham areas.

I was jsut wondering would I fit in just fine as long as I don't f@ck around etc. Any replies owuld be great.

2. Well, we take Fijians.....

3. Auld-Yin

Auld-Yin LE Reviewer Book Reviewer Reviews Editor

Well if you is from Norn irelan and they is from Norn Engerland, you will both talk funny and get on fine.

Is it because you fancy the budgie tickler though?

4. No no it's jsut my dad was in it really. And I decided the Irish Guards look too funny with them bearskin hats.

5. I am in a South of England regiment and we have the odd soldier from Northern Ireland and they get on fine. Some might find it odd but if you say your Da' was in the regiment then it will make perfect sense to them. The main thing is that you won't be able to get Corporals to give you a lift home.

6. When I joined up in 1989, I joined the Light Div, we had people join us from Canada, USA and an Aussie, so go for it, wherever and whatever unit you join they will make you feel welcome.

7. I was RRF. It's mostly Geordies and the like, but also recruit from Manchester, Brum and the big smoke. That said, we had a canadian in our platoon, so it doesn't really matter where your from as long as you put in the graft... might bit a bit of stick in the bar, but that's another matter :wink: