Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by Amy5555, Jan 6, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have been looking into the army for a while now, and just have a few questions which I would like opinions on.

I have a degree, and whilst I was at university I became an instructor in the cadets. I had no intentions or aspirations of army life at this stage, I just wanted to do some volunteering with young people and the cadets looked like a good youth organisation. This was 3 years ago and, although I appreciate it isn't the real army, I have become very interested in that side of things, especially when we go away on camps etc.

If I went to the careers office, as cadets is my only real 'experience', would this be laughed at by recruiters?

I would like to try as an officer, and there are a couple of roles at officer level that I am interested in. But if I didn't make it to the stages of the briefing or the actual board, is it possible to go in as a soldier and apply for a commission later? Even if it is different corps, e.g. from intelligence corps as a soldier to ETS Officer?

Sorry for the long message :)
  2. chimera

chimera LE Moderator

Check you PM for reply.

3. There are plenty of recruits whose only experience of the army is being a cadet until they join up; surely being CFAV shows some maturity and responsibility, so no, I doubt they'll laugh at you.

You want to apply for a commission from the start, as the selection process for potential officers differs from that for OR. Remember you don't make you final binding choice of corps/ regiment etc until you're at Sandhurst. Don't be nervous to wander along to the AFCO and ask.