Joining up but not sure which job ? help please !

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by lgnd-bev, Aug 18, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hey, im new to this and i have found it usful to me so i thought i would sign up.
    Anyway i am joining the army :D and i have my interveiw this friday !
    I have 2 jobs that im interested in... One is the infantry the other is Royal armoured corps. I already know a bit about the infanftry and what they do etc... But i also dont know much about the RAC... If i did join i would want to go to the royal scot dragoon gurads. When and if i join, will i be going to afghanistan ? cause i know ther is no tanks out ther just recce ones so would i even go to afghanistan, if so what would i be doing ?
    Thanks guys. Ryan.

2. as far as i know if your inf youd be in afgahan eventually i might be wrong and stand to be corrected by someone whos in the forces but chances are you'd be deployed, inf is where its at mate stick to your sense of adventure :p

3. Well strangely enough all Challenger 2 training seems to be suspended at the moment and from the 'rumour' i heard last week specifically because RAC were apparently retraining on Jackal and Panther, however RAC do go to Afghanistan much the same as if you join the Infantry you can expect to end up there.

At the moment though there are no vacancies for RAC until at least after April, that is not to say they are not recruiting it just means you would have a long wait to get in, the Scottish Infantry however is a different story and the Royal Regiment of Scotland is the number one priority for recruiting :)

4. thanks guys, yah it says on the list of jobs on the sheet i got from my barb test that the intake for RAC was 9/3/10, and the RRS is september !