Joining UOTC - turning a blind eye...

Discussion in 'OTC and ACF' started by magister, Feb 5, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I’m a student in the Republic of Ireland and I plan to study for a post-grad in Queens University, Belfast next year.

When there, I’d like to join QUOTC. However, there are two potential problems; Firstly, as the degree is one year only, will I be allowed join for such a short period?

Second problem is a bit trickier. I’m currently in the Irish Army reserves, and I wonder would it be possible to be in the OTC at the same time? Or asking in another way, could a blind eye be turned to this? I hope this isn’t as ridiculous as it sounds. Belfast is as far from my home as possible and so I’ll be effectively a non-member of the Reserves until I return from NI. I would resign, except the Reserves only accept recruits, and if I left and rejoined at a later stage I would start again at the bottom. All promotion, including to officer, is effectively based on seniority so I would be discarding 7 years of service if I did that. Realistically, I see myself having a long term future in the South, so I’d be wary of walking away from the reserves. Ethically, we are all on the same side so a year in the UK reserves shouldn’t be a problem from that POV. Any thoughts?

Cheers,

Magister.

2. Don't bother with the OTC - it's only a drinking club

3. I’ve a couple of reasons for joining – I want to experience the Brit way of doing things and the OTC seems like a good social circle in a city I don’t know very well. Also, I presume the TA recruitment process is pretty long – interviews and fitness checks etc, while the OTC seems to be more “turn up and start”. Welcome any advice tho.

4. Would it be possible to 'transfer' or go on attachment to a TA unit for the duration of your degree?